Good Intentions vs. Results

Good Intentions vs. Results

Some of us look for credit for our good intentions. Our motives are pure and selfless; therefore you must accept our intentions and give us credit regardless of the results.
I observe that the young lady I see at the far end of the pew is very attractive and nicely built. She would look very nice on my arm as I walk into a social setting with my peers. I intend to commit a wide assortment of venial and possibly a mortal sin or two in my attempts to get her on my arm. My intentions are to enhance the opinions of my peers of me, as well as for me to enjoy, and I mean really enjoy, the company of this young lady. I walk up to her and look her in the eyes and say “Hello….” As I try to continue she puts her hand up and says, “Stop right there, and get away from me you fat bastard!”

My intentions were honorable (as they relate to my own personal and selfish motives). I wanted to impress my friends and I also wanted to have a very good time in the process. Why didn’t she allow me to complete the process? Could her interests have any impact on my good intentions? It seems that it depends on whose intentions we’re talking about.

Elected empty suits want to provide health care for everybody legal or questionable resident, insured or uninsured, sick or healthy, young or old, whether they want it or not. Their selfless (in their own selfish opinion) motives and good intentions are more important than the results or lack there of.

If the intended and unintended consequences of this 2000 plus page legislative boil on the ass of democracy are not a matter of concern for us. Their intentions are pure (as pure as mine in my attempted sexual assault of the lady sitting in the pew) therefore they deserve credit for their intentions only. Results are only important if they’re used as a criticism of your political opponents.

One of the former great states of this country was getting ready to inflict a tax on sugary drinks. The intention was stated as a punishment for the individual’s poor choice in beverage, and a tool to use behavior modification to correct those poor choices. A side benefit was expected to be some additional revenue to allow the elected dummies to satisfy their obligations to their owners and masters who demand more payments to this and that.
Their stated intention is to modify behavior to make us healthier; they will accept some additional revenue in the process. Their hands are back in our pockets and that makes everything OK. If we do or don’t modify our unhealthy ways, so be it that makes it better for the additional revenue. Their intentions are so pure.

My attempted sexual assault is starting to look like less and less of a crime when you look at it in comparison to the pillars of our communities.

My intentions were honorable from my own personal point of view. An attractive young lady would have been disappointed and despoiled, but I would have been a stud in the eyes of my buddies, and I would have had some real good material to misrepresent, mislead and ultimately to lie about my performance and results to my friends.

I better be careful it’s starting to sound like I’m running for congress.

The low information voters are easily impressed with candidate’s intentions and are not clever enough to look for results. Good intentions are fantasies until they are translated into results.

The problems with political good intentions are that they usually promise a free lunch. Lunch is never free, you may not have to pay for it but someone else has to. They promise you New York Strip Steak and Lobster Tail, but you get a moldy bologna sandwich and green Jell-O. The tax payers who always have to pay for the promises of the elected serial spenders are charged for the New York Strip Steak and Lobster Tail.

The low information voters give them credit for their intentions to give away the free lunch and never consider the results, their moldy sandwich and green Jell-O.

We all need to be more critical of candidate’s results and not their intentions. I don’t care what you tried to do, show me; don’t tell me what you accomplished. I could have had a hot young babe spend a weekend in a cheap hotel with me, fulfilling all of my worst and impure fantasies, but it didn’t happen because the selfish lady had some standards.

We have to start being selfish and find a few standards, even low standards would keep these bums out of office.

About gino984

A well fed middle aged male with strong opinions and a sense of humor. I was a Commissioned Officer in the United States Army Military Police Corps. I also spent some years in manufacturing management in both union and non union environments. I know how to lead and how to supervise. I also know how to share what I know. My degree is in Criminal Justice so that means I have a background in Psychology and Sociology. When you couple my Law Enforcement and Security training and experience with my education and experience in management and leadership you get a unique view on Supervision and Leadership.
This entry was posted in Economics, Humor, Social Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment